Canada

Notre équipe est un groupe de dirigeants éducatifs qui sont passionnés et dévoués qui offrent leur temps en tant que bénévoles pour créer d’avantage des opportunités d’apprentissage axées sur les connexions pour les élèves et les enseignant.e.s canadiens.

Directrice du partenariat national, canadienne

Leigh Cassell adore les enfants. Elle est une innovatrice, aventurière et partenaire en apprentissage avec des enseignant.e.s et des élèves du monde entier. Leigh est fondatrice et présidente de la dHL. Pendant les douze dernières années, Leigh a enseigné des élèves de la Maternelle jusqu’au 8e année en mettant l’accent sur l’intégration des technologies efficacement pour inspirer l’apprentissage, la création des réseaux globales pour les enseignants et les étudiants, le développement  des compétences du 20ieme siècle, et la préparation des élèves pour la réussite en tant qu’apprenant.e.s. Leigh est un Apple Distinguished Educator, éducatrice certifié Google, enseignant certifié SMART, et co-fondatrice de A Kids’ Guide to Canada/Guide du Canada. #Learn2Connect #Connect2Learn

______________________________________________________________________________________

Directeur de la recherche


Dr Daniel G. Krutka est un professeur adjoint de la formation en sciences humaines à l’University of North Texas. Il a été un professeur d’études sociales de l’école secondaire pendant six ans et le président du programme de sciences sociales pour les niveaux intermédiaires et secondaires à Wichita State University. Ses champs d’intérêts de recherche incluent l’éducation de la Citoyenneté et les rôles que les médias participatifs pourraient jouer en cultivant des expériences plus démocratiques et l’éducation. Il peut être trouvé sur Twitter @dankrutka. Ses recherches se trouvent sur Google Scholar ResearchGate et Academia.edu.

 

Équipe de Recherche (Canada)

 

Conseiller en recherche

Dr. Ken Carano est professeur agrégé de l’enseignement des sciences humaines dans la Division de l’éducation et Leadership à l’Université Western Oregon et le co-coordonnateur du Centre d’enseignement de la géographie en Oregon. Il est un ancien professeur d’études sociales et bénévole du Peace Corps au Suriname, en Amérique du Sud où il a enseigné les élèves des classes élémentaires et gérait un programme parascolaire. Ken est co-auteure du livre When the Lion Roars Everyone Listens : Scary Good Middle School Social Studies. En outre, il a écrit de nombreux articles et chapitres de livres sur des sujets tels que l’utilisation de technologie éducative, romans graphique et la musique dans la classe de sciences humaines. Il peut être trouvé sur Twitter @caranowou.

Conseillère en recherche

Melissa Lavoie a commencé à enseigner en 2006 et a été employé par le district scolaire catholique du nord-est de 2007 à 2017. Depuis 2,5 ans, elle travaille comme éducatrice en technologie pour toutes les écoles du conseil. En travaillant avec d’autres champions de la technologie en éducation,  son équipe a dirigé le changement au plateforme G Suite for Education pour promouvoir la collaboration et l’informatique en nuage. Elle a soutenu des projets d’innovation impliquant la photographie de 360′ et Walk With Us – un conte numérique/photographie et projet de cartographie pour les étudiants autochtones, en partenariat avec Google Earth Outreach. Présentement, elle est employée par le conseil Mushkegowuk comme spécialiste de l’éducation-GIS et une étudiante à l’UCB dans le MET, le programme de technologie éducative. En savoir plus sur Melissa ici : Twitter ou LinkedIn

 

Conseillère en recherche

Karin Davidson-Taylor s’est rejoint au Royal Botanical Gardens (RBG) en 2006, avec 17 ans d’expérience d’enseignement des adultes et des enfants. Elle a été chargée d’établir les RBG comme un chef canadien dans le monde de visites virtuelles interactives. Elle développe et offre des programmes d’éducation de distance aux élèves (jeunes et moins jeunes) partout au Canada et dans le monde, pour atteindre plus de 45 000 élèves à jour. Les programmes interactifs promeuvent la prise de conscience de notre lien avec les plantes, la nature et l’importance de la biodiversité. @RBGVC

______________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Conservateurs de bibliothèque provinciale de l’Ontario

Joel Krentz a été un enseignant-bibliothécaire pendant 14 ans dans trois écoles différentes au Toronto District School Board. Il est un facilitateur d’AS (Qualification supplémentaire) à OISE, et donne le cour enseignant-bibliothécaire. Joel est un présentateur habituel à la super conférence annuelle de l’Ontario Library Association. Prenant la parole sur des sujets de technologie, de la justice sociale et de la recherche. Il a participé à la Ontario Library Association comme Coprésident du Comité directeur du programme Red Maple et, plus récemment, planificateur pour la Super Conference en 2015 et 2016. Joel a également fait du bénévolat pour le Canadian Children’s Book Centre comme évaluateur pour leur publication Best Books for Kids and Teens. Vous pouvez suivre Joel sur Twitter @joelkrentz

Aretta Blue est une enseignante-bibliothécaire de la Thames Valley District School Board. Dans la dernière décennie, elle a occupé ce poste dans deux écoles différentes ainsi que le poste de Coordonnatrice des technologies d’apprentissage pendant près de cinq ans. Passionnée de former des liens sociaux avec les apprenants du monde entier et les incitant à faire une différence positive, elle est également membre de l’équipe de compétence médiatique critique de la TVDSB. Cette équipe utilise des plates-formes numériques à l’appui des écoles dans leur analyse de l’apprentissage et la compréhension des relations entre médias et publics. @InspireLearners

 

Kate Johnson-McGregor est professeur-bibliothécaire à Brantford Collegiate Institute à Brantford, Ontario. Elle a été la Présidente de la Ontario School Library Association en 2016. Kate a le désire d’explorer de nouvelles idées dans l’enseignement et l’apprentissage, elle aime collaborer avec des élèves et des enseignants, et aussi la littérature, le yoga, des voyages et de partager de bons repas avec sa famille et ses amis. Elle est une maman de deux filles impressionnantes (et un couple de bébés de fourrures). Son mari est un Australien expatrié qui a bravé 20 hivers canadiens. Kate est une présentatrice habituelle lors des conférences de bibliothèque et de l’éducation dans les districts scolaires. @TL_Kate

 

Alanna King est une enseignante-bibliothécaire et enseignante e-learning à Upper Grand District School Board. Elle est conseillère régionale de TVO et  une conseillère Ontario School Library. @banana29

 

Diana Maliszewski est l’enseignante-bibliothécaire à l’école publique Agnes Macphail dans le Toronto District School Board. Elle était jusqu’à récemment la rédactrice en chef de The Teaching Librarian, le magazine officiel de la Ontario School Library Association et est également membre du conseil de l’Association for Media Literacy. @MzMollyTL

 

Melanie Mulcaster est une enseignante-bibliothécaire élémentaire dans le Peel District School Board. Une apprenante et ‘maker’ a vie, elle est passionnée d’inspirer les apprenants modernes à découvrir, à se connecter, à innover et à explorer. @the_mulc

 

Rick van Pinxteren est un enseignant-bibliothécaire avec le Thames Valley District School Board. Il a de l’expérience avec la technologie, les robotiques, des langues, et la santé. Rick est diplômé de l’Université Western avec une majeure en histoire et un diplôme de l’enseignement de la Schulich School of Education, à Nipissing avec des spécialités en histoire et en Français langue seconde. Rick est apprenant à vie et présente ses connaissances régulièrement avec des collègues lors de conférences et des séances de perfectionnement professionnel. Rick aime les sports, les voyages, et de nouveaux défis. @rvanpinx

 

Dawn Telfer est une coordonnatrice Learning Technologies & Library Learning Commons à la Thames Valley District School Board. @DawnTelfer

 

Amanda Williams est un * glitterarian * (lu : professeur-bibliothécaire) au niveau élémentaire à Halton, qui travaille avec des élèves de la maternelle à la 8e année. Elle a présenté au sujet des arts en éducation au niveau provincial et international, y compris une mise au point sur l’enquête et la danse à DACI (Dance and the Child International) au Danemark. Amanda se concentre  actuellement sur l’éducation Maker ainsi que Design thinking. Elle continue à développer sa compréhension du Constructionnisme en  faisant des liens sociaux avec les autres éducateurs. Amanda croit que tout est mieux avec un peu d’étincellement. @glitterqn15

 

______________________________________________________________________________________

Bénévoles

profile picJennifer Casa-Todd est une épouse et une mère de deux adolescents et sa famille est sa priorité. Présentement, Jen est enseignante-bibliothécaire à l’école secondaire Cardinal Carter à Aurora. Avant cela, Jennifer était la conseillère de l’alphabétisation pour le district scolaire catholique de York, ainsi que l’une des apprenantes dans une initiative à l’échelle du district pour bâtir les compétences du XXIe siècle en utilisant la technologie. Jen est également une étudiante de l’Université de l’Ontario, Institute for Technology. Elle est passionnée de la connexion entre les élèves et au monde, et Jen croit que la technologie a le potentiel de transformer l’apprentissage dans des manières que nous ne pouvons qu’imaginer! Avec une puissance impressionnante vient la responsabilité écrasante! Jen croit que nous devons réfléchir d’une manière critique aux questions d’équité en matière d’accès, confidentialité et de la sécurité. @JCasaTodd

 

image00Rola Tibshirani est une enseignante d’immersion française à Ottawa pour le conseil catholique. Rola est passionné par les élèves qui prennent la responsabilité de leurs apprentissages en créant et en appliquant des processus de pensée intégrative pour embrasser les défis. Elle participe dans des projets du ministère de l’Éducation de l’Ontario sur l’évaluation (edugains.ca), la technologie (connections d’apprentissage) et à Global Initiative New Pedagogies for Deep Learning (6 compétences). Rola relie ses élèves avec des projets de partout dans le monde et favorise la recherche collaborative des élèves en formant des partenariats mondiaux. @rolat

 

 

 

______________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Traducteur français

 

Erin O’Rourke vit dans la région d’Ottawa avec son mari et ses deux enfants.  Elle est une  directrice adjointe à l’Upper Canada District School Board. Elle a profité de deux années en détachement comme une enseignante responsable de l’étude des travaux d’élèves de 2013 à 2015. Erin aime la lecture, l’apprentissage, le jardinage et la photographie. @eorourke75

This post is also available in: Anglais

Canadian Branch

Our Canadian Branch is a team of passionate and dedicated educational leaders who volunteer their time to create connections-based learning opportunities for Canadian teachers and students.

Canadian Partnership Director

Leigh Cassell loves kids. She is an adventurer, innovator, and partner in learning with teachers and students around the world. Leigh works full-time as an AMDSB Teaching and Learning Coach and she is the Founder & President of the Digital Human Library. Driven by her passion to inspire in others a love of learning, Leigh’s expertise is grounded in why and how we integrate technology to build relationships (#Learn2Connect and #Connect2Learn), develop 21st Century Competencies, shape new literacy skills and prepare students to succeed as next generation learners. Leigh is an Apple Distinguished Educator, certified Google Educator, SMART Certified Interactive Teacher, Founder of the Ontario Edu Students’ Twitter Chat and Co-Founder of A Kids’ Guide to Canada.


Director of Research

danDr. Daniel G. Krutka is an Assistant Professor of Social Studies Education at the University of North Texas. He was previously a high school social studies teacher for six years and the middle level/secondary social studies program chair at Wichita State University. His research interests concern citizenship education and the role participatory media might play in cultivating more democratic and educational experiences. He can be found on Twitter @dankrutka. His research can be found on ResearchGate, Academia.edu, and Google Scholar.

Canadian Research Team

Research Consultant

Dr. Ken Carano is an associate professor of social studies education in the Division of Education & Leadership at Western Oregon University and the co-coordinator of the Center for Geography Education in Oregon. He is a former high school social studies teacher and returned Peace Corps Volunteer in Suriname, South America where he taught elementary students and ran an after-school program. Ken is co-author of the book When the Lion Roars Everyone Listens: Scary Good Middle School Social Studies. Additionally, he has written numerous articles and book chapters on such topics as using educational technology, graphic novels, and music in the social studies classroom to facilitate critically literate students in an increasingly interconnected world. He can be found on Twitter @caranowou.

Research Consultant

Melissa Lavoie began teaching in 2006, and was employed by the Northeastern Catholic DSB from 2007 – 2017. For the last 2.5 years, she served all schools in NCDSB as an Education Technology Special Assignment Teacher. Working alongside a network of Ed Tech Champions, the team led a Board-wide move to the G Suite for Education platform to promote collaboration and cloud computing for the academic community. She also supported innovation projects involving 360′ photography, and founded Walk With Us – a digital storytelling / photography and mapping project for Indigenous students, partnered with Google Earth Outreach. Currently, she is employed by Mushkegowuk Council as a GIS-Education Specialist and is a graduate student at UBC in the MET, Educational Technology program. Learn more about Melissa here: Twitter and/or LinkedIn

Research Consultant

Karin Davidson-Taylor joined Royal Botanical Gardens (RBG) in 2006, coming with 17 years’ experience teaching both adults and children. She has been responsible for establishing RBG as a Canadian leader in the world of interactive videoconference-based virtual field trips. She develops and delivers distance education programs to students (young and old) across Canada and around the world, reaching over 45,000 students to date. The interactive programs promote awareness of our connection to plants, the natural world and the importance of biodiversity. @RBGVC


Ontario Provincial Library Curators

Joel Krentz has been a Teacher Librarian for 14 years at three different schools from K-8 at the Toronto District School Board. He is an AQ (Additional Qualification) facilitator at OISE, currently teaching the Teacher Librarian course. Joel is a regular presenter at the Ontario Library Association’s annual Super Conference speaking on topics of technology, social justice and inquiry. He has been involved with the OLA as co-chair of the Red Maple Steering Committee and, most recently, OSLA planner for Super Conference in 2015 and 2016. Joel has also volunteered with the Canadian Children’s Book Centre as a reviewer for their Best Books for Kids and Teens publication. His latest project is reinventing his learning commons to make room for a maker space. His personal and professional lives often meet when he finds himself at the intersection of community, social justice and digital learning wondering how to make it all work.  You can follow Joel on Twitter @joelkrentz

 

Aretta Blue is a Teacher Librarian with the Thames Valley District School Board.  In the past decade she has held this position in two different schools and in between these two school positions was the Learning Technologies Coordinator for almost five years for all of the Library Learning Commons within TVDSB.  Passionate about making connections with learners around the world and inspiring them to make a positive difference, she is also a member of the TVDSB Critical Media Literacy.  This team uses digital platforms to support our schools’ learning communities in their analysis and understanding of relationships between media and audiences, and information. @InspireLearners

 

Kate Johnson-McGregor is teacher-librarian at Brantford Collegiate Institute in Brantford, Ontario. She was the 2016 president of the Ontario School Library Association and currently serves as the association’s past-President. Kate is eager to explore new ideas in teaching and learning, loves collaborating with students and teachers in the learning commons and enjoys literature, yoga, travel and sharing great meals with family and friends. She is a mom to two awesome girls (and a couple of fur babies) and wife to an Aussie expat who has braved 20 Canadian winters. Kate is a frequent presenter at library and education conferences and in school districts. @TL_Kate

 

Alanna King is a Teacher-Librarian and eLearning teacher at Upper Grand District School Board. She is a TVO Regional Councillor and Ontario School Library Councillor. @banana29

 

 

 

Diana Maliszewski is the teacher-librarian at Agnes Macphail Public School in the Toronto District School Board. She was until recently the editor-in-chief of The Teaching Librarian, the official magazine of the Ontario School Library Association, and is also a board member of the Association for Media Literacy. @MzMollyTL

 

 

Melanie Mulcaster is an elementary Teacher Librarian in the Peel District School board. A life long learner and maker, she is passionate about inspiring and empowering modern learners to discover, connect, innovate and explore. @the_mulc

 

 

Rick van Pinxteren is a Teacher Librarian with the Thames Valley District School Board with experience in technology, robotics, languages and health. Rick is a graduate of Western University with a Major in History and a Teaching degree from the Schulich School of Education at Nipissing with teachables in History and French Second Language. Rick is a lifelong learner who enjoys embracing 21st Century skills in the classroom, presenting his knowledge regularly with colleagues at conferences and professional development sessions. Rick enjoys sports, travel and taking on new challenges, bringing his experience and knowledge into his teaching to help students use the library as a gateway to explore and discover their passions.  @rvanpinx

 

Dawn Telfer is a Learning Technologies & Library Learning Commons Coordinator at the Thames Valley District School Board. @DawnTelfer

 

 

 

 

Amanda Williams is an elementary *glitterarian* (read: teacher-librarian) in Halton, who works with students in Kindergarten to grade 8.  She has presented provincially and internationally on the arts in education, including a focus on inquiry and dance at Daci (Dance and the Child International) in Denmark.  Amanda’s current focus is innovative learning models including maker education and design thinking. She continues to develop her understanding of constructionism by connecting with other inspiring educators and being a “guide on the ride” with her students. Amanda believes that everything is better with a little sparkle. @glitterqn15


Volunteers

profile picJennifer Casa-Todd is a wife and mom to two teens and family is her first priority. Jen is currently a Teacher-Librarian at Cardinal Carter CHS in Aurora. Before that Jennifer was the Literacy Consultant for the York Catholic District School Board, as well as one of the lead learners in a District-wide initiative to build 21st century competencies using technology.  Jen is also a Grad student at the University of Ontario Institute for Technology.  She is passionate about connecting students to each other and to the world, and Jen believes that technology has the potential to transform learning in ways we can only imagine! With awesome power, comes awesome responsibility! Jen believes we need to think critically about issues of equity, access, privacy, and safety. @JCasaTodd

image00Rola Tibshirani is a French Immersion Junior Teacher at the Ottawa Catholic School Board. Rola is passionate about students’ taking ownership of their learning by creating and applying integrative and designing thinking processes to embrace challenges. She participated in Ontario Education Ministry projects on assessment (edugains.ca), technology (Learning Connections) and in the Global Initiative New Pedagogies For Deep Learning (6 Competencies). Rola connects her students with projects from around the world and fosters students’ collaborative inquiry through Global Partnerships. @rolat


French Translator

erin-3-crop

Erin O’Rourke lives in the Ottawa area with her husband and two children, and teaches for the Upper Canada District School Board. She enjoyed two years as a Student Work Study Teacher from 2013-2015 and has since returned to the classroom. Erin loves reading, learning, gardening and photography. She is currently diving in the Maker world in an effort to have her students learn a second language through their work in a Maker Space.

This post is also available in: French